Fall Sports Awards Night

Maryland School for the Deaf Athletics celebrated a successful fall season of incredible accomplishments at its annual high school fall sports awards ceremony on Wednesday, December 11, in the Ely Auditorium.
Director of Athletics Andy Bonheyo served as the host of the awards ceremony. Bonheyo opened the ceremony by thanking all of the student-athletes, team managers and coaches for their hard work and dedication this past season.
High school student-athletes and team managers from cheerleading, cross country, football and volleyball teams were recognized on stage. Coaches shared highlights of their respective seasons and honored student-athletes with their national, conference and team awards.
Bonheyo concluded the ceremony by announcing that the National Deaf Interscholastic Athletic Association (NDIAA) has selected our own Christine DiMarco as the 2019 Division I Volleyball Coach of the Year.
Following the awards ceremony, guests were invited to enjoy light refreshments catered by Rosemary's Fabulous Cakes.
In total, 19 student-athletes were presented with team awards. Below is a list of all award winners.
Varsity Fall Cheerleading
Shining Star
Sabrina Firl
Most Outstanding Cheerleader
Jalen Whitehurst
Varsity Boys Cross Country
Most Outstanding Runner
Michael Williams, Jr.
Varsity Girls Cross Country
Most Outstanding Runner
Valerie Walkup
Varsity Football
Unsung Hero
Ethan Sheppeck
Most Improved
Enow Otto
Coaches Award
Jamal Johnson
Hammer Award
Truth Dorsette
Most Outstanding Lineman
Pacey Wilson
Most Outstanding Offensive Player
Jaden Joseph
Charles E. Moylan Most Valuable Player
Miguel Pavao
Junior Varsity Volleyball
Most Improved
Amber Virnig
Coaches Award
Aliza Selzer
Most Dedicated
Alona Zfati
Varsity Volleyball
Unsung Hero
Ariella Zfati
Most Versatile
Crystal Salit
Coaches Award
Milana Bielucke
Most Dedicated
Sascha Tansky
Stoltz-Lehmann Most Valuable Player
Citrine Lummer